Free Shipping over $75. Click for Details.

Alcohol - Ethanol (SDA 40B)

Alcohol - Ethanol SDA 40B stands for Phthalate Free Denatured Ethanol (Alcohol).

An alcohol (originally ethanol derived from either grain (corn, wheat, rice or other), cane (sugarcane) or other, becomes denatured by the addition of Bitrex, an unpleasantly tasting yucky substance added to the alcohol to render it undrinkable.

At BVO Our alcohol is Certified Organic and contains instead Organic Lavender Essential Oil to render it undrinkable.

The Alcohols we use at By Valenti Organics

At BVO we only use 2 types of alcohols: a) Organic Grain ethanol derived from Corn, b) Organic Cane alcohol derived from Sugarcane. Both gluten free and both denatured with Organic Lavender Essential Oil.

Alcohol is used in some of our formulations as part of our preservation system, along with other naturaly derived preservatives, to prevent bacteria and mold from contaminating the product. The amount of alcohol we add is large enough to protect the product from bacterial contamination but small enough that it won't dry your skin. Alcohol also increases the absoprtion of ingredients deep into the skin where they're needed the most.

Distilled Alcohols and Gluten Sensitivity (Celiac Disease)

Distilled alcohols whether from Cane (sugarcane), Grain (corn, wheat, rice or other) or others are naturally Gluten Free and pose no risk whatsoever to people with gluten sensitivity or intolerance when they're clear (pure distillate) without any additional flavorings or the addition of grain mash after distillation for flavor or color.

The Celiac Disease Foundation states that distilled alcohols do not contain any harmful gluten peptides even if they are made from gluten-containing grains. Research indicates that the gluten peptide is too large to carry over in the distillation process, leaving the resulting liquid gluten-free. Wines and hard liquor/distilled beverages like Vodka are Gluten Free.

However, beers, ales, lagers, malt beverages and malt vinegars that are made from gluten-containing grains are not distilled and therefore are not gluten-free.

Find Organic Alcohol - Ethanol SDA 40B in the following BVO Products.


For educational purposes only. This information has not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. This information is not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease.